

HON. BERNADETTE ROMULO-PUYAT

Secretary of the Department of Tourism

(02) 459-5200 to 30 (loc. 602)

E-mail: sbrp@tourism.gov.ph

BIOGRAPHY

Bernadette Fatima T. Romulo-Puyat (born May 14, 1969) is the current Secretary of the Department of Tourism after being appointed by President Rodrigo Duterte in 2018. She attended the University of the Philippines and pursued an undergraduate and a Masters degree in Economics.

CAREER

Secretary Romulo-Puyat was a former lecturer at the UP School of Economics (1994-2006). She also served as an Economic Consultant at the Housing and Urban Development Coordination Council (HUDCC) (2001-2002) and the Presidential Management Staff (2005-2006), and was Deputy Cabinet Secretary at the Office of the President in 2006.

She was appointed as Undersecretary at the Department of Agriculture from 2007 to 2018 where she was designated to handle Special Concerns, Administration and Finance, and Agribusiness and Marketing.

Secretary Romulo-Puyat assumed office as the Secretary of the Department of Tourism on May 14, 2018.

BERNADETTE ROMULO-PUYAT



EDUCATION

M.A. Economics	University of the Philippines (1993 - 1994)
B.S. Economics	University of the Philippines (1986 - 1990) Cum Laude
Affiliations	Phi Gamma Mu Honor Society Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society
WORK EXPERIENCE	
Secretary	Department of Tourism May 2018-Present
Undersecretary	Department of Agriculture
	Agribusiness, Marketing, and Regional Engagement July 2017 - May 2018
	Administration, Agribusiness and Marketing, and Regional Engagement and OIC-Chief of Staff July 1, 2016 - July 2017
	Special Concerns January 1, 2007 - June 30, 2016
Deputy Cabinet Secretary	Office of the President May 2006 - December 2006
Economic Consultant	Presidential Management Staff April 2005 - May 2006

Lecturer	University of the Philippines – School of Economics 1994 – 2006
Economic Consultant	Housing and Urban Development Coordinating Council 2001 - 2002

CHAIRMANSHIPS / BOARD AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

Department of Tourism (DOT)

Chairperson	Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority (TIEZA) May 2018 – Present
Chairperson	Tourism Promotions Board (TPB) May 2018 – Present
Chairperson	Duty Free Philippines Corporation (DFPC) May 2018 – Present
Chairperson	National Parks Development Committee (NPDC) May 2018 – Present
Chairperson	Intramuros Administration (IA) May 2018 – Present
Chairperson	Philippine Retirement Authority (PRA) May 2018 - Present

Department of Agriculture (DA)

Coordinator	Establishment of China-Philippines Techno-Industrial Zone March – May 2018
Chairperson	Department of Agriculture Gender and Development Focal System (DA-GADFPS) 2007-2018
Alternate Chairperson	National Organic Agriculture Board (NOAB) 2010-2018

Head	DA Organizing Team for Philippine Harvest Trade Fair 2016 – 2018
Chairperson	DA Organizing Team for Madrid Fusion Manila 2015 – 2018
Chairperson	DA Management Team for Presidential Events and Engagements 2017 – 2017
Alternate Chairperson	Philippine International Trading Corporation (PITC) Board of Directors November 2016 - May 2018
Member	Philippine Exporters Confederation, Inc. (PHILEXPORT) Board of Trustees November 2016 - May 2018
Member	Philippine Export Zone Authority (PEZA) Board November 2016 - May 2018
Member	Export Development Council (EDC) November 2016 - May 2018
Official Representative	Technical Education and Skills Development (TESDA) Board 2011 – 2016
Chairperson	Agricultural Competitiveness Enhancement Fund Scholarship Program 2010 - 2016
Head	Intervention for Special Sectors (Youth, Elderly / Senior Citizens, Differently-Able) February 2014 – April 2018
Member	Advisory Committee on Science and Technology Asian Food and Agriculture Cooperation Initiative (AFACI) April 2014 – May 2018
Chairperson	Agricultural Credit Policy Council (ACPC) 2010 - 2013
Chairperson	Agricultural Guarantee Fund Pool (AGFP)

2009 - 2014 Working Committee for the Promotion of Philippine Food Chairperson Products at the Philippine Exhibition, Musee Du Quai Branly Paris, France 2013 Chairperson Asian Food and Agriculture Cooperation Initiative (AFACI) 2010 - 2012 Chairperson Upland Southern Mindanao Credit and Institution Program (USM-CIBP) 2007 - 2013 Chairperson DA Counterpart Committee on Cooperation to Implement the DA-BFAR and Basque Country Department of Agriculture, Fisheries, and Food Agreement on Fisheries Cooperation 2007 - 2014 Chairperson TWG for the Establishment of the Traceability System in the Philippines of the United Nations Development Program (P-TRACE) 2007 - 2014 Chairperson DA Exports Development Team 2007 - 2010